The last of 22.


we_are_stars_together_by_fairystories

This is the last of 22,
I look in the mirror and,
I say to myself,
I love you.

On the last of 22,
I’ll take your hand,
then we’ll dance right into,
the beginning of something new.

Let’s go out,
in the sun,
a new chapter,
has begun.

Let’s hear,
the birds sing,
let’s sit,
on a swing.

Let’s feel,
the sun burn on our skin,
let’s feel alive,
and let love in.

Let’s breathe fresh air,
let’s be wild and,
kiss love,
everywhere.

Just me and you,
together on the last of 22,
let’s live this day,
and have a blast,
before we add it,
to the past.

Oh tomorrow,
we will go and say hello,
to an audience of a whole new show,
to the start of 23,
I hope you’re ready to,
make some great memories.

3,
2,
1,
and it’s begun.

Here we go,
cheers to 23,
now life is up to,
you and me.

And as I close my eyes,
for one last time,
I am wondering about the things,
this new year will bring.

Categories: PoetryTags: , , , ,

13 comments

  1. Happy Birthday!
    I love this one. So buoyant and cheerful!
    I wish I’d felt even remotely close to this when I turned 23, or half as wise!
    At that age, I was about to embark on one of the longest and eventually unsuccessful adventures of my life, and my gut knew it too, but I didn’t listen to it!
    Enjoy 23. There’s a lot to be said for 23, even if I didn’t exactly make the best decisions 🙂
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy birthday, buddy! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stunning. Loved the perspective. You HAVE to get into songwriting! Your poems are lyrics in the making, or waiting

    Like

  4. Reblogged this on All I behold and commented:
    Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

