The Mirror Man


slenderman_in_the_mirror_by_gingaakam-d5jmfgg

A little girl at home,
playing in her room alone,
suddenly her mirror shows,
a man inside,
dressed all in black,
in suit and hat,
and a grin, oh so mad,
above the tie.

He grabs her leg,
and pulls her through,
she tries to fight,
but cannot win,
for no one ’s home,
to hear her scream,
“I’m too strong for you,
give up mein Kind*.”

Her mother and grandma,
now back at home,
they had been out,
for some celebration.
Now looking for the little girl,
but the child remains unfound,
at the peak of their despair,
the little girl has been released,
and striking midnight,
she reappears in one piece.

With screams and cries,
and eyes open wide,
the little girl runs frantically,
she wants to hide.

Her arms and legs,
now coloured with bruises,
her little heart,
now spoiled with fear,
her trembling voice,
now alerting:
“The mirror man was here!”.

He grabs you from the mirror,
when you think you are alone,
he pulls you through,
he is also known,
to climb out of your TV,
if he is after you,
he even takes us,
from ‘neath our beds sometimes, too.

He’s a flexible man,
without good means,
he borrows little children,
to eat their screams,
he feasts on fear,
when you expect it least,
the mirror man appears.

And should you be,
so fortunate to be released,
make no mistake,
to think you’re safe,
for the mirror man,
he may return,
if he really likes your taste…

*mein Kind (German for: my child)


About this poem:

I wrote this poem for the 13 Days of Halloween literary series on Spillwords. Though surprised, I was very happy when the editor asked me to be a part of this series as I enjoy writing darker things lately.
Due to lack of time and/or motivation I haven’t been writing anything recently. I don’t even have as many ideas as I used to have a while ago. There is just so much serious stuff going on in my university life, that it feels as if it’s drowning out every whisper of creativity. I took a few notes here and there, but all of them unfinished.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading this and this is going to make you think twice next time before you look into a mirror when you’re home alone…

Happy October guys.

Prospermind. 😉

Categories: Poetry, Short StoriesTags: , , , ,

9 comments

  1. Love these lines

    to eat their screams,
    he feasts on fear,
    when you expect it least,

    I must confess as I was reading this poem a flash of the USA election was alive in my mind with both candidates being the mirror man. lol

    Liked by 2 people

    • I had the exact same reaction! Mr Trump, Nigel Farage, Marine Lepen… and all those nice people around the world.

      Great poem Prospermind!
      I liked the rythm of it, and the thoughts it led me to reflect upon.

      As for not writing much… I tried to do OctPoWriMo this year again. But, like you, there’s just too much heavy stuff going on in my life. It didn’t happen. I wrote a few more than you did, but… far from 31! (I guess the being private and stuff doesn’t help with taking part in such a challenge 😉 )

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Jiayou my friend, you will recover your creativity soon, like you always do. It’s a matter of time, don’t let your heart worry about those stuff. A day will come you will have all the time to work on your art, but in the meantime, a good friend told me one day one should focus on his three main pillars 🙂 Take care !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very eerie! The ease of pace that you crafted this (almost haunting lullaby thingy feeling) awesome fire tale…Wow, I loved how this whole piece spoke and spooked 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like dark! I liked this. I wouldn’t worry too much about creativity, it can fall silent when your life is incredibly busy but it always comes back. I know it’s difficult, I’ve just started a Master’s in Creative Writing and it’s taking up most of my time which means I am not writing very much unless it’s for that, because…I just haven’t got the energy lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know you do and the fact that you like this one makes me very happy. 😀
      I know, how is your master going by the way? Is it a two year program? Is it divided into categories such as Poetry, Fiction and Screenwriting and do you have to chose a category or is it a little bit of everything?
      I’m playing with the thought of doing a second Bachelor in Creative Writing after I’m done with the first one in June, but I’m not so sure yet. I’m not so sure about anything really. Ugh. Life. So many possibilities, so little time. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

