Short Story Series: The Mysterious Man Part 1


25th_floor_by_tvlookplay

It all started when I went on vacation with my grandparents last summer. I had just turned 17 and they had invited me to go on vacation with them. Even though it might turn out to be quite boring to spend two weeks with my grandparents at 17, I still agreed to go with them. After all they were already pretty old and I didn’t know how much longer I would get to have my grandparents around.

A few days after we had arrived I already felt quite annoyed by my grandparents with their rules and restrictions, but I tried to find a way to let it go and just appreciate my time with them anyway.
My grandparents and I had separate hotel rooms next to each other and one late afternoon we had agreed to meet downstairs in the lobby to go out into the city for dinner. I had gotten ready twenty minutes early so I decided to go downstairs to the lobby and wait for them there. I got on the elevator and pressed the 1
st floor, to my surprise the elevator went up instead of down. It was a little bit weird, but I thought maybe someone in the floors above had pushed the elevator button, so I didn’t give it much thought. I went up all the way to the top, the 27th floor and when the door opened I felt uneasy.
The first thing I noticed was that the floor was quite dark and almost all the lights were broken. I couldn’t see much as there were only two or three remaining light bulbs burning. It felt colder up there than in the rest of the hotel and I could feel the cold creeping its way into the elevator. I peeked outside and looked around, trying to see if there was anyone waiting to get on. There was no one. I felt quite relieved and sighed. It was then I realised that it was abnormally quiet on this floor, there was no noise coming from this floor at all. The only thing I could hear was the distant noise of all the other floors below. It all seemed more than strange to me and I just wanted to get out of there and go down to the lobby as soon as possible. I pressed the button that makes the doors close faster, I pressed it quite a few times but the doors just stayed open. Only then I noticed that the doors had already been open for an unusual amount of time.
“Oh no, not now, not here!”.
I thought that the elevator must’ve had some sort of malfunction and now it’s gotten stuck here. I tried pressing some other buttons and different floors, but no luck. I was stuck.

To be continued…

Categories: Short Stories, Short Story Series: The Mysterious ManTags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

