Just like I dream.


d4769ceed9aaec819f19436650362be2-d4pbrck

Getting old,
No longer free,
Taking new roads,
No longer lone,
Head over heels,
Surrounded by love,
Chasing my goals,
Falling down hard,
Mistakes that bleed,
Scars hurting me,
Still standing here.
Watch me breathe,
Going my way,
I still believe,
Some day I’ll reach,
My true destiny,
Just like I dream.


About the poem:

I have been struggling over the past few months. I’ve been struggling with finding out what I truly want to do with the time I am allowed to spend in this wicked world. Now, that I have completed three years of studying Chinese (Mandarin) and with only one more year to go until I get my diploma in Modern East Asian Studies it’s about time to make a plan for what comes next, time to think about the future.

Doing so, I have come to realise one thing: I don’t want to have anything to do with Chinese Language in a professional way. Don’t get me wrong. I still enjoy studying this language and I will continue to do so until I reach my goal of passing level five out of six levels of the official Chinese language test, which requires to know, read and write approximately 3000 different Characters. Hopefully I will reach this goal in December.
Still with me? Good. Anyway: I know now that I want to study and later do something COMPLETELY different. Yes, it has something to do with being able to write for money.

This poem is simply about not being afraid of making mistakes or even changing the course of one’s life. It serves as a nice reminder to me and maybe even to you as well. To be honest, there are days when I’m a bit afraid and also have doubts about certain decisions, of course! I am a human being, with feelings of insecurity and doubt every now and then, we all are.

But nonetheless fear, insecurity and setbacks should NEVER be allowed to stand in your way, it may however be a necessary part of the way in order for us to grow. Yes, change is a scary thing but we should worry less and simply live more. After all life really is too short and can come to an end unexpectedly. So let us not be frozen and held back by fear, but bravely follow the beat of our hearts wherever it may lead us.

Happy Monday,

Prospermind. 🙂

Categories: PoetryTags: , , , , ,

11 comments

  1. It is nice to see your poetry evolving as well as you are spiritually. Be well my friend

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All the very best in your future endeavours… writing, poetry and your dreams! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have no doubt you will successfully follow the true path of your heart

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is the story of my life, it seems. Except I learnt that lesson so much later than you!
    All the best with both the Mandarin and the other subject.
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

