Daily Dispatch 27: Royal Intruder


ice_queen_by_alicechan-d4796x5

She came through the window,
on a frosty night,
that’s how I met,
the queen of ice.

On a stormy night,
she entered the room,
with a cold breeze of air,
slowly spreading herself everywhere.

What frightful sight!

She said she came,
to claim what’s hers,
the frozen heart,
my chest conserves.


This poem is part of the projectΒ Daily Dispatch.

About this poem:

Like the queen of ice, this poem came to me in the middle of the night after I woke up from a dream. Luckily I decided to write it down. Other than dropping the first stanza, I left the poem unedited as it came to me. There was no need to change anything.

Due to a turbulent week, it’s been quite difficult to catch up with things here on WordPress. I’m going to catch up as soon as possible. Until then:

Happy Holidays and see you soon,

prospermind.

 

Categories: Poetry, Show Your WorkTags: , , , ,

15 comments

  1. Right, as soon as I read your first line, this is what came to mind (and I’ve spent the past 30 minutes trying to find a way to get it here!). Now, let me go read that poem of yours πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for going through that much trouble to share with me what reading the first few words of my poem have triggered. I have listened to this song while walking on the streets of shanghai, enjoying the sunshine and some “fresh” air. Thank you for sharing, I really had a wonderful time. I love it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Then I’m very glad!
        Yes, I know the Shanghai air has many qualities, but fresh may not be one of them :-/
        If you don’t know it, I highly recommend the whole Abbey road album, it’s full of little treasures, if only the very last song. I actually wanted to post it, and didn’t get around to it, but… I know I already used it somewhere on my blog. In one of my depression posts I think.
        I’ll go dig it out πŸ™‚

        There are many songs that have become Beatles classics in this album and that you’ll know πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Right, having now read it… Wow! Powerful!
    I hope it’s not too autobiographical. I don’t think your heart is frozen, otherwise it couldn’t find words to express such beauty.
    Sending hugs from my little corner of Europe.
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Last stanza really brings it home with a punch

    Liked by 2 people

  4. this one really packs a metaphorical punch, the ice queen may yet visit me.
    good stuff

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

