Daily Dispatch 15: Diamond Swings.


counting_stars_by_beautifuldisasteriam-d92hc3h

I see people,
on diamond swings,
swinging and letting go,
of earthly things.

On these diamond chains,
beneath the starlit skies,
everyone who’s dreaming,
is drenched in purple lights.

The people swing,
the people dream,
and their eyes, they shimmer,
in the silver diamond gleam.

They’re jumping,
towards the stars,
some even make it,
but others are left with scars.

While most are nothing more,
than mesmerized,
only few are brave enough,
to take a risk and try.

But sad to say most are afraid,
to end up down on their knees,
so they’d rather keep on dwelling,
in the restraining comfort of their dreams.


 

This poem is part of the project Daily Dispatch.

About the poem:

For today, I thought I would do a “Behind the Scenes” kind of post. The poem above originated from a dream I had last night. What you are about to read is the absolute first draft version I quickly scribbled down after waking from this dream in the middle of the night. These are my notes:

I see people swinging,
on diamond swings,
letting go,
jumping towards the stars.

Diamond chains,
sparkling,
beneath the starlit skies,
drenched,
in purple light.

The people swing,
and dream,
their eyes,
they shimmer,
in the silver diamond gleam.

Completely mesmerized,
by all the lights,
only a few of them,
might
take the risk and try,
to jump towards the stars,
either making it and
tasting the sweet
fruits of their reward,
or fail trying,
ending up down on their knees,
covered in scars,
but some swing for ever,
simply dwelling,
in the comfort of their dreams.

See you soon,

prospermind.

Categories: Poetry, Show Your WorkTags: , , , , ,

5 comments

  1. Oh, this is so very true!
    I particularly love the first 8 lines…and this is going on my FB page ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful Young man, as always!
    And from a dream no less? I’m impressed you were wise enough to write it down in the middle of the night!
    Thank you for sharing both parts of this poem, the first draft and the polished version, it gives us more insight into how your mind works 🙂
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful. I particularly enjoy the imagery of diamond swings. And it spoke to me personally. In a tough spot, reminding me I need to the make the efforts to gain achievement. I have to also say, writing everyday, keeping up with everyday life, and responding to bloggers is an enormous undertaking. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So ethereal! For a minute I could actually HEAR the diamond chains as they swung. Brilliant!

    And I love how you give us a glimpse into your process below. Very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

