Daily Dispatch 12: Ready, Set, Go!


running_away_by_jnac-d3gvagw

What do you do,
when you’ve lost
one shoe
along the way?

What do you do,
when you’ve only got
one shoe left
one day?

You keep on running,
and don’t turn back,
that’s what you do.
You don’t lose track,
of wherever you
need to go,
you reach your goal,
no matter what,
and even if you reach it,
without your shoes,
at least you’ve made it,
you’ve pulled through.
Congratulations,
you have become,
a stronger you.

For in the end,
this
is all that counts,
and now get ready
to run
another round.


 

This poem is part of my project Daily Dispatch.

About the poem:

The message is simple: Don’t give up!

Today’s poem feels a little bit forced to me, yet I didn’t give up and kept moving forward with it word by word. I’m pretty busy today, however I set aside some time to complete my writing task for today, because – surprise surprise – the purpose of this project is to write every day.
Even though I’m positive I could write the poem above differently (which doesn’t necessarily mean better), if I’d let it sit for a while and took a bit more time to play with it. In the end I’ve decided not to obsess so much over it and simply put it out there. So, there it is.

Don’t give up on your goals, no matter what. Big or small, they all count. How? That you’ll only know once you reach your goal.

See you soon,

prospermind.

Categories: Poetry, Show Your WorkTags: , , , ,

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the message. I’m glad I took some time to read it, as usual , so I’m glad you posted it anyway 😉
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

