Daily Dispatch 10: Alien.


abyss_walk_with_me___1__by_alicelitwin-d4joe7b

I am a strange child,
Inside destruction,
I am,
An alien.

I don’t feel,
like everybody else,
Inside,
I am a stranger,
Within my own skin.

I look around,
And I follow
The sound,
Of outer orders,
Coming in.

I seem to have
Lost myself,
To the world,
In a battle,
I failed to win.

I am a strange child,
Inside destruction,
I have become,
An alien.


 

This poem ist part of my projectΒ Daily Dispatch.

About the poem:

Today, I went through countless notes just to see, if there was anything that could help me write today. While going through the notes on my phone I came across the first stanza of this poem, which has been sitting there for a few months. I decided I would pick up this unfinished poem and try to complete it, no matter what.
While writing this, I knew that the original idea was something completely different from the direction the piece above is going. I’ve decided to leave it as it is and publish it today anyhow, as I could always revisit this piece and write another (“the right”) version of it. I guess everyone who likes to write knows what I mean.
Having said that, I’m remembering my own words from yesterday: We can never know how others feel about our writing until we show it to them.

See you soon,

prospermind.

 

Categories: Poetry, Show Your WorkTags: , , , , ,

10 comments

  1. This is amazing! I completely relate to the whole idea of being alien and becoming even more so with each passing day. Wow! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. A lesson to be learned here. I always said keep all your writing even if it is two words, a line, a paragraph of unfinished work and someday you will complete it. You have provided a perfect example. Nice poem. One day I may explain how aliens have become part and parcel of my life.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, you’re absolutely right! I ALWAYS keep my notes, most of them are in my phone anyways (as I always have it with me and it has a nice notepad function). That’s the ONE good thing about phones…
      Oh, and please do! Shoot me an email if you’d like. I’d love to hear about it. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I seem to have lost your email or it is in that daunting library of email addresses. I know it is not prospermind. If you go on my main page of my blog up top on the right hand side you will see contact me just fill out the form. This way you don’t put your email on the net. Thanks

        Like

  3. I like it. I’m glad you used those notes you’d kept.
    And I know exactly what you mean when you say it didn’t go the way you intended. Which doesn’t make any version better or worse, just… different πŸ™‚

    I’m sorry you feel that way, if you do. I hope you find yourself and accept both the inside and the outside of this wonderful person you are. It is nice to be able to reconcile who we feel we are with whom we show to the world.

    Hugs.
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are days that make me wonder, I admit. I tend to be quite weird and my thoughts are super “original”. So, sometimes when I speak my mind among a group of friends I often get looked at funny. But, that’s why they love me. So, I’m fine. Thank you very much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • HA! See my latest post about our inner thoughts and so on πŸ˜‰
        It’s important you keep yours, that’s probably what makes you a better writer πŸ™‚

        Like

  4. I think its perfect as it is. We are all so individual, all damaged in some way, I think many people can relate to this poem and feel comforted that they are not alone

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

