Daily Dispatch 1: Fragments of a Story


a_story_untold_by_tfavretto-d10ho56

“He wants to kill me, he wants to kill me to hurt you.” I said to my Mom on the phone while running towards my car. And then I saw it. My father was already hiding behind the driver’s seat, ready to strangle me with a piece of wire.
I turned around and tried to get away as fast as I could and as I dared to look back I saw he had already jumped out of the car and that he shouted something at the driver in a green car, pulling up next to him. They were both looking in my direction, determined to catch me, to kill me.
My heart was racing and cold sweat of fear was running down my spine. Fear had taken control of my body and my hands were shaking. I had difficulties to hold on to the phone, but no matter what, I wouldn’t let go. I didn’t want to lose the connection, which may be my last connection to my Mom for ever. No, I wouldn’t let go, I wouldn’t lose it.

“I’m here.” I said to her “I’m at Grandma’s and Grandpa’s old house now.”
“Quick, hide!” I could hear the desperation in her voice.
“I’m about to – Mom? He found me. He’s here.” I said to her before I turned around and tried to make it to the neighbours house…


 

This fragment of a story is part of the project Daily Dispatch.

I am no story writer, however I am an amateur, who wants to write and learn more about how to write stories.

About the story:

This story is actually a dream I had. The dream felt quite intense and so real to me, I couldn’t forget it and I had to write it down into my note book of ideas.
Personally, I think it’s a great thing to write down your dreams or even just fragments of it, as they are quite powerful and interesting. This is why I keep pen and paper within arm’s reach every night. The more often you write down what you remember of your dreams, the more you will remember over time.
What do you think about dreams? Do you use your dreams as inspiration for ideas?

More to come,

prospermind.

 

Categories: Short Stories, Show Your WorkTags: , , , ,

4 comments

  1. Looking forward to the next piece

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great suspense in your story. Personally I don’t write fiction, or haven’t tried it yet. But I’m a huge believer in the power of dreams; in healing, processing and releasing, and probably also in inspiring. I have regular nightmares and talk in my sleep. One time as I awoke I heard myself saying “she put the baby in the crib, turned her back and walked away. That was the last time they saw Aiden alive” !!!!! Imagine waking up to that shit! WTF! lol If it sparks an idea, you’re welcome to run with it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

