Introducing: Project “Daily Dispatch”


Austin-Kleon-Show-Your-Work-Book

Today I’m introducing my project for March: Project “Daily Dispatch”. Something new and unusual from all my previous blog posts to celebrate 100 original posts on prospermind and to change things up a bit. I got the idea from the book “Show Your Work” by Austin Kleon, an excellent book full of advice for (aspiring) writers or any creative out there really.

The idea behind Daily Dispatch is to share something every day to show what I’m working on right now. Quite simple, however it’s not as simple as it sounds as I don’t want this project to turn into some sort of human spam. The purpose of this is simply to share, but not overshare.

I want to share with you, little pieces of the process and progress of being an amateur. Those little pieces might be influential, inspiring or just pieces of my work in progress. My goal is to invite anyone interested to be part of my journey to become a better writer. As difficult as it may sound, I want to invite you into the depths of my note books, share and let you see ideas as raw and unpolished as they appear.

Furthermore I invite anyone interested to participate. Share your thoughts, share your experience, share your work even, simply share. Let’s not give in to the pressure to self edit or obsess too much, let’s not worry about the quality of our work too much, let’s simply create, learn, grow  and repeat. Let’s become better amateurs day by day.

For me writing is what makes my heart tingle, this is what I love and simply because of that, I’m sharing my work process and my progress as an amateur with the world, accessible to all.

Personally I’m quite excited about this project, especially about its outcome. The hardest part of this is going to be the part of coming up with something to share every day for the next month. I didn’t prepare anything for this, I’m just going to jump into the cold water and see what happens. I’m simply going to take this day by day.

See you soon.

Categories: Show Your WorkTags: , , , ,

41 comments

  1. What a great idea! You certainly have my attention! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds great! I’m know I’m behind everything right now, but count me in 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fantastic!! I am super sorry for the late reply and I haven’t had the time to check out how you’ve been participating. But I will!
      To write every single day and to keep up with the usual stress of daily life is quite challenging, but it’s worth it!
      Be well and read you soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m doing the exact same thing. It’s really great for just reflecting on how your day went. Glad to see I’m not the only one, don’t know whether it’s just me, but these posts tend to be really addictive, I see you’re a bit further into it than me though, how are you finding it? Is it hard to come up with new posts everyday?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think I’d have to agree with you on that. The thrill of having to come up with material each day is what makes is kind of addicting.
      So far I’m enjoying this project, even though it’s quite challenging at times to actually sit down and take the time out of your daily life to write, it’s also quite rewarding. I noticed the more I write every day and the more I remind myself of my goals of this project, the easier it is for me to let go of the urge to self-edit or obsess too much about a piece. In addition to being more able to let go, I feel as if picking up the pen and writing something (no matter what or how much) is getting easier every day.
      So, to answer your second question more clearly: No, it’s actually not harder to come up with something for a new post every day, once you let go of your ego, which every writer almost inevitably develops over time, and go back to not caring about if anyone is going to like it, it’s actually quite easy to come up with new material, of course there are a some off days every now and then.
      Could you please leave me a link to your current blog here? I can not seem to find your blog and I’d like to check it out. Thank you very much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think also, in terms of voice, it’s a good scheme. I’ve only done five posts, but I can already feel my voice shining through a little more, whereas in the past it tended to be surpressed beneath whatever I was reading at the time. I’d agree with you on the ease. I tend to save 20 minutes at the end of the day for my daily dispatch, and always look forward to that part of the day. That’s good news, and good encouragement too. And I’d have to agree with you. The only reason it tends to be hard is because we fret over whether it’s good or not. But then people tend to just forget it if it’s bad, or, you know, not even read the thing. Yes, of course, I was fiddling with the settings a while back and seem to have muddled the link it’s: https://johnbalzerwriter1.wordpress.com/

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’d say that doing this, definitely strengthens your voice.
        Thank you for the link to your blog, I stopped by yesterday to have a quick look. I noticed that there was no “About” page for me to find and read more about the author behind the blog.
        Today I’m planning to go and head over to take a look at your “Daily Dispatch”.

        See you soon and have a great Sunday. 😉

        Like

      • I’ll get an about page up and running in the next few days, thanks for pointing that out. I think I need to make it a little more user friendly, easier to navigate that sort of thing. Thanks for having a look, I’ll be keeping tabs through the reader. Hope you’re having a great weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Looking forward to it.
        And yes, please do stick around. I’m enjoying our conversation(s) quite a lot so far.
        I am, thank you! Right back at you! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

